top of page
  • Writer's pictureFrancesca Matteoda

Salabhasana (locust or grasshopper pose)

Updated: May 17, 2021

Oh my goodness! I thought it hadn't been so long, but I've just realised that my last post was on the 28th of March... sorry to have kept you waiting so long!

Today's video is about salabhasana. I hated this pose for years as I found it so hard to do, but practice makes perfect, and although my locust pose is far from perfect (you should see how high some people manage to lift their legs off the ground!!) I can finally say that I quite like it (although it's still not one of my faves by any means).

When I played back the video I realised that I said "pelvic bone" but that should be "pubic bone" or "pubis". Sorry about that!

The most important thing to remember here is not to lift your head and to push your pubis down into the mat in order to protect your lower back when practising this pose. Benefits: Strengthens the leg muscles, glutei, lower back, helps reduce abdominal fat and can help ease constipation.

CONTRAINDICATIONS: slipped discs, hernias anywhere in your spine, sciatica, pregnancy, high blood pressure.

NB: Some schools teach a different variant of salabhasana, in which you lift your upper chest and head, looking forwards, and stretch your arms up and back. We might do that next week.

As always, please listen to your body, don't compete with anyone else or with yourself, and take it easy. If you feel any pain, stop immediately and get in touch. I hope you enjoy it. NAMASTE.



Recent Posts

See All

COVID-19 & yoga

It's funny that I started this blog/vlog in the middle of the first COVID-19 lockdown, and in fact entitled it "Yoga in the times of Covid-19", just over two years ago. My intention at the time was to

bottom of page